OSI: “Reincarnation”

I’m once again participating in the poetry fun over at One Single Impression. If you enjoy poems and awesomeness of various stripes, why not pay them a visit?

This week’s prompt is “Reincarnation.” I’ve always been fascinated by this concept; the idea that the universe lets us keep trying until we get it right is both reassuring and (for some people, I’m sure) a little scary. With this in mind, I give you:

Reincarnation

Next time I come back,
I will be glamorous and
charming, glib and svelte.

I won’t make the same
Mistakes, won’t let my fool heart
Choose the primrose path.

As Tolkien once wrote,
“All shall love me, and despair.”
But I’ll be smiling.

And although I’ll hint,
Imply, and allude that I
Could give you my heart,

I’ll crave not your love,
Only your adoration;
This door is one-way.

And standing on high,
Ablaze with reflected light,
I’ll know what it’s like, darling

To be you.

10 Responses

  1. Now there is a wonderful twist!

  2. Terrific! I’m so afraid I’ll just be the same dimbulb then as I’ve been in this world. :)

  3. Hmmm…sort of hopeful and wicked. Cool!

  4. @Glowby Thanks! :)

    @Tumblewords I have the same fear – or even worse, the fear that I might come back as something awful, like a slug or a Republican. ;)

    @SandyCarlson Thanks! :D

  5. Very nicely done. Though I would not want to be the object of love Tolkien was speaking about..

    love, Melanie

  6. @Melanie Thanks…yeah, most of the time I wouldn’t either. :)

    @guatami Thanks so much! Glad you liked it.

  7. Hi Claire;

    Oh Claire, lovely poem, romantic though one way…:)

    I now wish I could reincarnate the way you wish to…:)

    great take on the prompt dear!

    visit my space too, and hope to hear from you too re: my reincarnation poem, too!

    good morning!

  8. Yes. Why not? If one could choose. Full of gloating irony. A fun read!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

