Tour de Farce

I'm such a dork.

I'm such a dork.

So here’s the thing:

After a decade and a half of friendship, a certain RedHead and I find ourselves almost 2,000 miles apart and in very different places than we were 15 years ago (figuratively and literally).

Sov’s been hectoring Jess (the other leg of our Tripod of Friendship™) and I to come visit him in the sandy , fireworks-laden furnace that is Utah, and next year, we plan to do it – and by train, no less!

We’re still in the early planning stages, but right now it looks like we’re booking two first-class tickets on Amtrack to carry us from Chicago to Salt Lake City next April. Whoo-hoo!

While the financial onus of pre-purchased tickets is usually enough to keep my flighty brain focused long enough to carry out my bidding and bring me to my destination, the probability of hiking through the hinterlands of Utah as well as actually being expected to swim, out in public, where people can, you know, see, requires me to ramp up my own exercise and diet regimen. That is why I am announcing:

Claire’s Tour de Farce®

Starting this week, I am planning to track my stationary bike millage, carefully toting up each and every mile until I have pedaled my way from Troy to Salt Lake City! This will (in theory) force me to stick to my workout, thus ensuring I will be even more fit and trim (and possibly even human-shaped) by the time our trip rolls around next year!

I plan on posting updates every week on Fridays. There are 1,455 miles between Troy, Ohio and Salt Lake City, Utah, and we’ve got 39 weeks between now and our departure date (tentatively scheduled for the last week in April 2009). At 7.6 miles a day, five days a week, I should meet my goal two days before we leave! Whoo-hoo!

Upon completion of this goal, I have promised to buy myself a bunch of new clothes so I can impress the indigenous peoples of the Utah Territories with my fashion sense and fondness for ridiculous hats.

No word yet on whether or not I will be issuing bracelets for the cause…stay tuned!

7 Responses

  1. Woot! Go Claire!

    (in my best white girl shout out hollerrrrrrrrr)

  2. Oooooo!! Bracelets!!
    All physical exertion seems more noble with a bracelet!

  3. Yay! Come to Utah! We are so much fun over here!

  4. I’m pretty excited, ladies!

    And now I’m halfway serious about bracelets, if only because I will be able to say “Look, everyone, (insert friend’s name) chose me over Kabbalah/Lance Armstrong/lactose intolerance awareness!”

    So far I remain “on track.” Once I complete tomorrow’s miles, I will have my first 38 miles out of the way!

  5. […] Salt Lake City, Utah in 39 weeks of hard-pedalin’, sweat-floppin’ action (as detailed here).  If you’re just joining us, you should know that I’m putting in my miles on a […]

  6. […] after a very trying month or two, I’m pleased to report that my efforts to complete my virtual ride to Utah have […]

  7. […] I’m bendy. Not Gumby bendy, but pretty freaking bendy. Which is why, as I grew tired of the Tour De Farce and sought ways to supplement my flagging dedication to daily exercise by adding some toning, I […]

Leave a Reply

